CHRISTMAS TAG | BLOGMAS #7

05.00 pm / blogmas 2015

1. When do you start getting excited about Christmas? 
It's different every year! Some years I don't get excited at all, some years it starts already during summer. But usually in november.  

2. Do you still have advent calendars?
I order the calendar from a kid's tv-programme every year. I might or might not open every door in January, but I always need to have it. I hardly anymore buy any chocolate ones, but this year I actually have a chocolate one too!

3. What are your favourite Christmas Films?
I've actually not seen that many, but I love Home Alone, Elf and Joulupukki ja noitarumpu (Santa Claus and the Magic Drum) - it's one I grew up with and associate with Christmas more than anything else.
 
4. Do you have any funny Christmas memories?
The more I think about it, the more I realise I actually can't remember much at all. The only thing I remember, which isn't really funny, but one year, I was probably 5 years old, I wished for loads of stuffed toys but instead I ended up getting a big one. This isn't a funny one, but a few years ago I fell in the stairs and hurt my finger, and little did I know I would actually be going to the doctor a lot and have three (or four? I can't even remember) surgeries within a few years because of it. I still can't use my finger properly, and I never will.

5. Talk us through your typical Christmas Eve/Day?
Christmas Eve is the big day in Finland, but in my family we don't really do much actually. My mum and step dad leave pretty early to eat rice porridge. I stay in bed late, and by the time I've gotten ready it's usually time to start preparing dinner. So I help with that, then we eat, my mum cleans up a bit, we open presents, and eat dessert a few hours later. My mum and I usually eat a little again around like 10p.m. Christmas isn't really that different than a normal day to be honest. 

6. What do you eat for Christmas Dinner?
We usually start with some fish and potatoes. I'm not a big fan of the traditional Finnish Christmas dinner, so for me the main food is just potato casserole and ham. This is my first year as a pescetarian though, so we'll see what I'll come up with!
 
7. Do you have any Christmas traditions? 
We actually don't really have any.  

8. Which are your favourite Christmas songs?
Some of my favourite songs and a link to my Christmas playlist can be found here.

9. What is the best Christmas present you ever received? 
I can't think of anything special. I'm always really grateful for everything I get, but especially for a new phone or computer, because those are the most expensive gifts I've gotten, and the thought of someone spending that much money on me scares me a little.

10.Real or fake christmas tree?
Real. 



Leave a comment on this post here.

Leave your email to be notified when your comment has been answered. It will not be shown to anyone but me.
Please be nice when commenting. Thank you.


name:

e-mail: (only visible for me)

url:

comment: