BECOMING A VEGETARIAN

05.41 pm / vegetarianism

I've never understood the concept of eating meat - we kill living animals and eat them just for our own good. I've never understood why everyone just eats meat like it's nothing. I remember being under 10 years old, and thinking about becoming a vegetarian, and those thoughts have always been in the back of my mind. They've always been there. I never thought I could do it, mainly because I’m a picky eater, and I used to never even eat fruits or vegetables. But as I got older I became more and more uncomfortable eating meat, and during the last months of being an omnivore I didn’t even really enjoy the taste of any other meat than chicken and fish. But no matter what kind of meat I ate, the second I was reminded of what it actually was, I had to stop.
 
This summer I was home alone for a week, and I spent it making meatless meals, doing research and watching YouTube videos of people telling their stories and reasons to become a vegan/vegetarian. That’s when I decided it’s time. The next day my mum came home and I asked her if she was okay with it. Although she didn’t seem too happy about my decision, she told me I’m 18 years old and I can make my own decisions. It was something I had been thinking and talking about for years, so she knew I knew what I was doing. That day I ate my last meal with meat, that’s not fish.
There’s a lot of reasons why someone becomes a pescetarian, vegetarian or vegan. My main reason was that I didn’t want to eat animals, I didn’t want them to be killed for me. But while seeing people talk a lot about this online lately, seeing all those videos and doing research, I also found out that animal products is actually very bad for our health and the environment. And if there is something, even the absolute tiniest thing I can do to help the animals and our planet, and at the same time reduce the chance of me getting cancer or other diseases, I will do it. Especially if I can do so much only by cutting out meat from my diet.  
 
I still eat fish, which I'm not happy or proud of at all, but I eat it very rarely. In fact, I’m not fully comfortable calling myself a pescetarian since my fish consumption is so small. I really don't substitute other meats with fish, I pretty much only eat it when there's no vegetarian alternatives or on days when I don't have any ideas for vegetarian meals, which is once a month if even that. The reason I decided to keep eating fish is mainly because of my mum, and I felt like it would be easier than to go fully vegetarian over night. A lot of times it's also easier to find fish alternatives than fully vegetarian ones, for example at a restaurant or at a party. I really want to go fully vegan one day, but for now I’m going to do my best as a vegetarian and enjoy vegan meals once in a while. Not eating meat has actually been a lot easier, and cheaper than I thought. I’m so happy I did it. I don't miss meat at all. Everyone says this, but I can't not agree – the only thing I regret is that it took me so long to do it. I really can't see myself going back.
 
Pictures: x / x / x



Leave a comment on this post here.

Leave your email to be notified when your comment has been answered. It will not be shown to anyone but me.
Please be nice when commenting. Thank you.


name:

e-mail: (only visible for me)

url:

comment: