Menstrual Cups

01.00 pm / health & positivity

 
Ever heard of the menstrual cup? If yes, you've also probably heard amazing things about it. If no, where have you been? I can't recall when I heard about the cup for the first time, but it's quite a long time ago already. I wanted to try one for so long, but I was so scared of both the product itself and the price. I finally decided to buy one a few months ago, and let me tell you, it's amazing, it's life-changing
   What am I talking about, you might ask. A menstrual cup is, as the name says, a cup to use during your period, a feminine hygiene product. Unlike tampons and pads, the menstrual cup is reusable. You insert the cup when you get your period, it collects the blood, you empty it and insert it again. When your period is over, you just put it in a small bag you get when you buy the cup. You can use the same cup for years! It's a lot better for both the environment and your own health. You can use it during the day, when you're sleeping, when exercising. There's no time of the day when you can't use it. There's different sizes too, so everyone can find one that fits. 
    I used to hate periods, I felt gross and uncomfortable. With the cup I don't feel like that, sometimes I don't even remember it's that time of the month. It doesn't feel like the world is ending when I realise it's almost time for my period, instead I'm actually almost excited for it. I'm now comfortable and carefree, even when my body is bleeding.
   If you try it out, which I recommend and hope you do, I recommend not giving up after one use. Use it for one or two periods before you decide it's not your thing. The only way to find out if it's something for you is by trying it. 
 
 
WHY YOU SHOULD INVEST IN A MENSTRUAL CUP
+ Environmental friendly. Since they're reusable, you don't throw away a bunch of garbage every month. It's also a lot easier to find vegan and cruelty-free cups, than it is to find tampons and pads. 
+ Comfortable. When inserted correctly, you can't even feel it. I often completely forget it's even there.
+ Healthy. The cup doesn't contain any chemicals like tampons and pads, and it doesn't dry you out like tampons do.
+ Cheap. It's quite expensive when you first buy it (mine was about 28€), but in the long run you're saving a lot of money. 
+ More time between changes. You can keep your cup in for up to 12 hours at a time! I empty mine when I wake up and before bed, so twice a day. Tampons and pads need to be changed every 4 to 8 hours.
+ Less visits to the store. After you've bought one cup, you don't have to go to the store to buy another one for a few years! 
+ No odor. When using a pad, some odor might sometimes occur from the menstrual blood. This doesn't happen with the cup. 
+ Easy to use. 
 
SOME NEGATIVE SIDES OF A MENSTRUAL CUP
- Expensive. As already mentioned, it's quite an expensive product, but in just a few months you've already saved money. 
- Getting used to it. It might take some time to learn how to insert it, as well as removing it. For some it might be a little painful, especially when taking it out. The cup also requires a lot of work, but you'll get used to it fast.
- More work and messy. With the cup, your hand hygiene is a lot more important than with e.g. pads. You also have to sterilize your cup at the start, and/or at the end of your period, using boiling water or other products, like Lunette CupWipes. It's also a bit more messy, since you're dealing with a cup full of blood. 
 
 

Har hört att många rekommenderar dom här o dom verkar ju så bra! Kiva att läsa dina tankar om den :)

Svar: Joo o jag tycker dom blir bara populärare hela tiden också! Vilke e jätte bra just med tanke på hur mycket mindre skräp det blir av dom etc! O som sagt, jag rekommenderar dom verkligen, sku nästan kunna hålla föreläsningar om dom haha :D
Christine



Leave a comment on this post here.

Leave your email to be notified when your comment has been answered. It will not be shown to anyone but me.
Please be nice when commenting. Thank you.


name:

e-mail: (only visible for me)

url:

comment: